Skip to content
August 16, 2012 / errantimpulses

Holy crap

Well it is finished! I can’t believe it! Here is the first page and there is more + my ramblings after the cut. Rated “M” for a bit of bum and bad language and implied sex – everything one could ask for.


That Mello, what a character!

So yeah, it’s done!  The story (and I use that term loosely, of course) was based on an old chat transcript with Flasheart.  I needed something and was too lazy to make something new up, hah!  The story’s a bit odd, I know – I find I’m not interested in fanworks anymore unless they’re super-random.

I have been involved in various “fandoms” for years, but it’s only been in the last few months I’ve realized some of the truly beneficial reasons people engage in “fanwork”.  I won’t go  into huge detail, but in drawing this comic I realized I was much more willing to go with mistakes since it was “just” a fancomic.  There was a gap of several months between the first few pages and the next few, and then another gap for the remaining few.  I tried new “techniques” straight onto the page (I don’t think I’ll ever get the hang of brush-pens), took an art class halfway through, and got some really bad advice on how to correct my mistakes.  I don’t think I would have taken those chances with the original comics I want to do.  But I learned a lot in this experience (and I bet Matt did, too)!

Speaking of Matt it was really fun to draw Mello with “Matt” expressions!  Quite a change of pace!

I did my pencils on artboard and then inked right onto them.  I tried inking clean-ups with gouache white (bad advice) and then did ink washes ( ❤ !) …but ended up having to do a lot of clean up in PS.  Next time I think I will have to ink onto vellum – but I’m not sure how that will take the washes, or I will have to scan at high contrast and do all the shadings on the computer.  Boo hoo – I love ink washes!

Anyway, I’m off to read some comics, and maybe in the morning start a new comic!  ❤

 

(Hah!  I just realized no one has any nipples.  Poor little Ken dolls)

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jen / Aug 21 2012 12:39 am

    Oh Errant! I just saw this, read this… it’s like my spirit is soaring with joy.

    I adore this fan comic, I really do! You write Mello and Matt with a lot of individuality and gusto; Mello’s both tender (the arm over Matt in the first panel, augh so sweet) and fierce, and Matt is pussy-whipped yet snarky. They interact so well. I’m falling in love with this pairing all over again.

    I didn’t quite expect to, but I thoroughly enjoyed their interactions with Near. Your Near is the ‘normal’ one here, and provides a nice contrast to MM’s hijinks. His little scandalised face! Hee.

    And I love, love your art! There are panels that I pored over in every page, some very elegant and expressive lines. Mello’s body’s hips and shoulders in the panel where he says “Okay!”, Matt’s body’s expression as he tells Near to fuck off, ah~

    Happy happy! thank you for creating this little gem!

    • errantimpulses / Aug 22 2012 3:47 am

      Your happiness makes me happy! Mello and Matt seem to lend themselves to craziness – there is never any crazy leftover for Near to claim. I don’t know what to say to all your kind words – but I hope to make more!

      • Jen / Aug 22 2012 3:25 pm

        Yay, more! That’s what I want to hear! ;D

Leave a Reply

