Skip to content
October 21, 2012 / errantimpulses

Super Heroes In Training

Here is a picture

Holy cow, holy cooooooow.

I haven’t been this happy in ages!  I have been watching the Young Justice cartoon all weekend.  It is…. I don’t know how to say it.

I started reading DC, I don’t know how long ago, with Impulse.  He was adorable.  Mark Waid’s writing was fantastic.  Clear characterizations – which you know I love, love, love.  Spinning off from that was the Flash, Young Justice, and a few others, but Impulse was always number 1.

But then Impulse was canceled.  And despite years and year of Bart showing disdain for the name “Kid Flash”, Geoff Johns made him don the mantle of Kid Flash.  Ug, it was so over.

When a friend told me “Young Justice” was a cartoon series, and pretty fun, and Bart was on it – I got excited, but after Googling it (quickly) I saw Kid Flash.  “Not again!” I thought, and put it to the back of my mind.

But no!  Kid Flash is Wally!  And Bart is Impulse!  So happy!

The timeline is wonky – it’s weird seeing Kon hanging out with Dick and Wally (as opposed to Tim and Bart).  And the Super-Cycle is there, and Secret and Harm.  So confusing.

It’s darker than the real Young Justice – and Kon’s sporting his Teen Titans outfit (I LIKED the disco belts! XD) but I really, really like it.  I never watched JL because, although I liked Wally, there was too much Batman and Superman in it to my taste.  Here, Wally definitely has more screentime (though Barry is wearing Wally’s Flash costume, waaaah?).

I really love it!  I haven’t seen Impulse’s stuff yet, but I’m looking forward to it.  Unless they shoot him in the knee and change his costume, it will be like coming home, I think.

Leave a Reply

