Skip to content
December 9, 2012 / errantimpulses

Birthday

birthday6croppedsmall

 

Mello’s birthday is coming up!  Yay!  Also?  National cocoa day!  Yaaaay!  (They are on the same day, of course – Dec. 13th)

Done in Sai.  A bit different than what I’d initially planned, but whatever!   I’ve started using vectors in Sai a bit.  I’m not comfortable using them for all my “inking”/linework….but I’ve been using it for backgrounds an paneling – mainly things that require semi straight lines, haha.  Lately I’ve been “inking” with non-blacks, because black makes everything look pretty harsh…but I need to make better decisions about which pigments to use.  The brown for this was too light – it’s okay in the background, but when it comes to Mello’s clothes and L’s hair, the lightness of the brown stands out too much against the darkness – I had to sacrifice a bit on the coloring.

I’ve still been going with limited palattes….I think it does help keep me focused – I’m very impressed with what other artists can do with very few colors, but maybe I should have gone out more on this, haha.

I have a lot of thoughts going on in my head right now.  I really want to do something for the Hawkeye Initiative, but I haven’t read many American comics recently.  😦  I’ve also been thinking of trying to get my comic co-op together….I need to think about that more.  I have two commissions I need to work on…. and the art classes next term are not good for my schedule.  😦  So many things to think about!

Leave a Reply

