Skip to content
December 10, 2012 / errantimpulses

Smirk

Here, have another picture of Mello.

mellsketchhalfsmall

 

Edit:  Here is also a picture of Near!

nearfacesmall

Okay – about the Mello pic….

I didn’t plan to draw this one, this was a quick sketch.  Everything about this shows a lack of planning.  The right hand side is the edge of the paper.  In front of him there is a smaller Mello sketch I’d done all of him (that is the hood of his coat and some hair).  Mello is missing his right (our left) eye because there was a different drawing there that I had done before I drew this.  It started with the smirk.  Lemme explain.

I was using Hogarth’s “Drawing the Human Head”.  He breaks the head down into all these parts.  Which is good, because I have a very limited attention span.  So I was doing a couple basic sketches, then I got bored and went back to my usual doodling, but only parts of the body.  Next to this Mello was a giant eye.  Above him, geez, I dunno, maybe a nose.  But then I dew a little mouth, and I said, that’s a Mello mouth.

I didn’t want to spend too long on this – especially as I didn’t plan it out and really didn’t have a lot of room, so I used the pencil I’d been using for my general sketching – a 2B.  This weekend I got a pack of woodless graphite pencils, and they are really nice.  I used a smudge stick and a pencil eraser.  Er – not an eraser you’d find on a pencil – something like these, where the eraser is encased in wood, like a pencil.  I’d picked those up at the same time as the woodless graphites (oh, the irony!).  I’ve never used them before – I thought they might be good for detail work.  They are not bad, but the problem is the little eraser scraps that stay on the page.  They stick where you erased (as usual) and if you swipe the area, you re-smudge it, undoing your eraser work.

Oh well.  But overall not bad – I have to get used to using them.

 

…after I was done with that, I sketched out Near, because it is winter!  And I draw Near in the Winter!  …I think I like Mello better, though.

Leave a Reply

