Skip to content
February 4, 2013 / errantimpulses

Treed

Have a picture of Mello in a bear suit!

mellotree02small

I like drawing Mello in bear suits!  Mello’s name is Mihael, which I shorten to “Misha” – a diminutive for Michael .  In Russia, Misha is another name for “bear”.

Fun fact – I drew Mello in bear suits before I knew ANY of that.

For the record, only L can call Mello Misha, and Mello calls Matt Masha occasionally.  That second one really doesn’t make sense.  Maybe.  I mainly took an “M” word that can mean beloved, haha.  But then, the names Matija and Marija (Matt and Maria in …Slovic?  I don’t know…) look similar….I dunno.

The picture above was supposed to be part of a larger picture, but I realized I couldn’t get all the angles I wanted from one picture.  Here’s the rest.

nearttree02small

It originally was only Mello climbing the tree and Near sleeping, but then Mello had to pull a prank.  Near is a little lamb.  A sadistic, terrifying little lamb.

I also realized you really can’t tell that’s Near.  With no dice and no Mello, he looks weird!  So even though it ruined the purposed of the picture, I gave him a terrible, creepy grin.

nearttree03small

….still weird, but more like Near!

Haha, I was going to color these, then I thought, why bother!  I think I’ve been spending too much time coloring.  I need to go back to simple coloring….

Anyway.

I’m getting to the point where I’m getting nervous about my drawings again.  Like, “omg that hand isn’t perfect, I’m a failuuuuuure!”  I need to stop that.  I feel bad, because when I see someone’s work that I like I immediately start picking out what’s “wrong” with it.  Like, “oh, that posture is incorrect for bearing weight” or “the right arm looks longer than the left one” or “the leg line is all squiggly.”  It doesn’t really detract, because I like the art, and end up saying, “look – I like this in spite of the flaws, and usually I have to hunt for the flaws….”  but it would be much nicer if I were more confident so I didn’t do that.

I’m taking a college art class right now.  I don’t think I’m really awesome – all my classmates are good in their own ways – but my teacher is treating me like I’m amazing.  I think it’s because I don’t complain, haha.  He will ask us to do a warmup for, like, five minutes, and when he goes over to correct someone in their technique they blow him off all, “well I don’t like this, anyway!  I don’t know why we have to do this!”  ….um.  you don’t have to….but YOU signed up for this class?  So deal with the work or drop the class?  I dunno.  I can get not liking an assignment….but why whine about it in public, during shared classroom time?  Listening to my classmates is the only thing I don’t like about the class, haha.

Leave a Reply

